One happy month home 

We just can’t believe a whole month had passed since arriving home. It’s just been a whirlwind!

She was so happy to see daddy again and I know, even though we had a great time together in China, she really missed being around other kids. Her brothers and sisters quickly embraced her and, after some initial smothering, she fell for them, too. 

They had a blast playing with the Sichuan opera masks we brought home. 



They’ve played dolls together, watched TV together and played lots and lots of hide and seek. Rowynn is a sneaky little stinker and loves to crouch and hide behind corners and jump out to scare the unsuspecting. Then she shrieks in laughter. 



Chinese New Year came about a week later. We had really pressed hard to be able to bring her home before the holiday and are so thankful it worked out. It was important to us for her to know that we celebrate Chinese culture.

We went to the Asian festival downtown on Saturday morning and enjoyed the lion dance. We got great seats up close and afterwards, the lions came into the audience and posed with the kids. It was so cool! We ate noodle bowls and shopped the arts and crafts. 



That evening we had our Chinese New Year party. I had brought chinese outfits from Guangzhou for everyone. We decorated with dragons, lanterns and lights and everyone had a great time. I could tell Rowynn really enjoyed it. 



After two weeks home it was time for Rowynn to start school. She enjoyed having us to herself during the days but I could also tell she really wanted to be a part of what the kids were doing when she saw them get off the bus. We got her registered and she was so excited. 

She has the same teacher Finnley had when she started school and that was very comforting. Rowynn had been told in China she must give gifts to her new classmates and she gave each one a pair of decorative chopsticks in embroidered sleeves. The kids were very welcoming and many had made her drawings and cards. 



In her first two weeks she’s been able to join in on Fairy Tale day…



…and, she was able to do a piece of artwork to submit for consideration for the upcoming district-wide art show. 



We have high praise and affection for her SWI family in Panzhihua. They did so much for her–they sent her to school in the community, they nurtured her talents and they clearly loved her very much. We credit them immensely for how easily she has fit in here and how much she knows. 

We can tell they not only provided her schooling but they made an effort to teach her the alphabet and the English sounds that go with them. She can not only sound out the letters, she can write them all and very neatly. She is even beginning to phonetically write words spoken to her. I keep telling Steve she knows more than she is letting on and I’m pretty sure we are in for big surprises as her confidence builds. 

She has had a few moments of grieving in her own quiet way. She will occasionally slip away to her room and I’ll find her singing softly in Chinese with tear stained cheeks. I know it’s part of the process but it still breaks my heart. We’ve given her lots of love and space when she needs it. I’ve gone on to Facebook to show her recent pictures of her old friends with their new families and that always makes her smile. I hope one day we will be able to video call and maybe even visit her friends. They were her family for so long and I hope they stay connected. 

I continue to be amazed at the way she has embraced family and her openness. A couple of nights after we had come home, I was tucking her in. I hugged and kissed her and as I pulled away she grabbed and pulled me tight and said “I love you, mommy!” Oh, my heart!

I just love this girl so much! The way she calls me Mōmy (long O), the way she wrinkles up her nose when she smiles and the way she loves life. 

You’re a huge blessing, little girl!



4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shaynafrey
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 21:06:32

    I just love this update!!! She looks so happy. 🙂

    Reply

  2. jeanette
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 18:01:18

    I love the updates on her. She looks very happy and I wonder if the two girls speak Chinese to each other? Loved the pictures at the Chinese festival and was so surprised to see my daughter-in-law off to the side in one of them!

    Reply

  3. Kelleyn
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 21:49:17

    Everyone looks so happy! Crazy how time flies by so fast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

